PDA

View Full Version : Is there a diffrence between the ego change and the cardini change

Kieran Oloughlin
02-09-2011, 06:45 AM
Title says it all
Is there a diffrence between the ego change and the cardini change?

I can do a change similar which I belive is the ego because in dan and daves the trilogy you do the cardini diffrently.

la0o9
02-09-2011, 10:42 AM
they're both one and the same i think... that one color change have so many names... then again, may be the difference is in the finger(s) that actually does the move, i've been doing it with the middle finger for a whole year, then i started practicing stuffs on the Trilogy and the Top Shot and now i do the move with my pinkie.

Albert
02-09-2011, 03:37 PM
Yes, there's a difference between the Ego, Cardini, and even Pughe's pass (which looks very similar). They are all apparently independently created. What I will explain may have some flaws:

1) Ego change: Garcia's version of it which is silent and uses mainly the index finger and thumb to hold onto the deck while doing the change. This one mainly requires a rotation of the deck to clean up mostly due to the way the deck is held. Found in Garcia's Project Volume 1

2) Cardini Snap Change: As taught correctly, I assume, from Michael Ammar's books and DVDs called The Magic of Michael Ammar, the Cardini actually uses the ring finger to enter into a large break before doing the change.

3) Pughe's Pass: This one (I do not currently know of the origin) is what most people claim to be the Cardini Change. This one is done in a mechanics grip, different than the Ego change. The cleanup is also different, where this one does not need an all around square up. As the name suggests, this was normally used as a pass of one card I believe, not a change.

Like always, distortion happens in magic, and a lot too. Hope this helps :)

If I made a mistake anywhere, please feel free to correct me.

Mark
02-09-2011, 09:01 PM